I Am of the Stars
I Am of the Stars
Shooting Craps With Uncle Richie
0:00
-3:33

Shooting Craps With Uncle Richie

A New Song

It’s natural to be curious about your family history. Isn’t the success of services like 23AndMe evidence of this? I suppose the human question is always this: who am I and where did I come from? I’m no different—I love to learn about my family’s past. Maybe you remember our single from 2022 about my uncle, “Uncle Jimmy”? I’m heading down a similar path for this new song. My dad and my aunt recently retold a story about another uncle, my uncle Richie, known in the Chorba circle as “Richie the Crooked Cop”. Now I don’t know if any of this is true but apparently there was some sort of warehouse fire and when the firemen came Uncle Riche was inside with the local Trenton gamblers rolling dice. This landed him a desk job and some infamy.

I got to thinking…if I was to do some time traveling, where might I end up? Would I be one of the good guys? The bad guy? The bystander? The up-stander? The victim? Maybe I’d be with Uncle Richie—shooting craps while the place burned down. Here’s the song in a very rough form. We’ve already recorded all the tunes for our 2024 album so I’m putting this one on the back burner and we’ll see if it ever goes anywhere, but it was fun to write it and to record this demo late last night.

Thanks for listening and have a great weekend!

- Mick

P.S. Our friend Todd Ellis has a new restaurant in Stockton, NJ just above Lambertville. This weekend the area celebrates Shadfest—The Successful Failures are playing at Todd’s place, The Starving Artist Cafe, Sunday afternoon at 2:00 (full band electric). Free concert. If you’re in the area plan to come see us and get some food at the Cafe. Full show schedule below.


Shooting Craps With Uncle Richie

I could be riding on the shoulders 
Of an elephant in India
With my family all caught up in the war

I could be enslaved
I could be the enslaver
The child who has stepped out of the corn

When the bombs have stopped falling 
And the angels start calling
I know where I'll be found

Shooting craps with Uncle Richie 
While the place burns down

Ah, na-na-na-na

There were days when the thunder 
Like waves would be pull me under
My head all caught up in the storm

Then I start to wonder 
As I run for cover
If my lover loves me anymore

The lightning is striking
And now the Vikings
Have pulled into the sound

I'm shooting craps with Uncle Richie 
While the place burns down

Ah, na-na-na-na

They were sitting in a Studebaker
Waiting for the undertaker
On the dark side of the town

Through the fog a shape was forming
A shot came without warning
And the undertaker crumbled to the ground

The city was on fire
Burning like a pyre
The ashes falling to the ground

I'm shooting craps with Uncle Richie 
While the place burns down

Ah, na-na-na-na

Upcoming Shows

  • Fri. 4/19 7:30 - Crosswicks Community House..opening for Comedy Night, Croswwicks, NJ

  • Sun. 4/21 2:00 - Shadfest outside Starving Artist Cafe, Stockton, NJ

  • Fri. 4/26 9:00 - John and Peters, New Hope, PA w/ Alpha Rabbit and another band -  full band electric

  • Sat. 4/27 - Screamin Hill 2:00 - 5:00 2 man acoustic

  • Sat. 4/27 7:00 - Union Firehouse Mt. Holly  - full band electric

  • Sun. 4/28 12:00 - 3:00 Mick Solo at Chesterfield Green Fun Fair 

  • Thu. 5/2 7:00 Abilene Lounge in Rochester, NY - full band electric

  • Fri. 5/3 7:00 - 10:00 Bridie’s Manor, Oswego, NY - full band electric

  • Sat. 5/4 7:00 Garrett’s Brewery, Trumansburg, NY - full band electric

  • Sat. 5/11 5:00 Chesterfield Porchfest - full band electric

  • Sat. 5/18 2:30 Steel Mill Street Fair, Roebling, NJ - full band electric

  • Fri. 5/24 7:00 Beach Haus Brewery, Belmar, NJ - acoustic duo

  • Sat. 5/25 7:00 Spellbound Brewing, Mount Holly, NJ 7:00 - 10:-- full band 

  • Sat. 6/88 4:00 (SF on at 6:00) Bordentown Concert Series at Gilder Field - full band electric

  • Sun 6/9,  time tba (afternoon) Trio Tavern - Zufffest Williamstown, NJ - full band electric

  • Wed. 6/26 6:00  Music in the Square, Chesterfield, NJ - full band electric

  • Sat. 6/29 Screamin Hill, Cream Ridge, NJ

  • Sun 6/30 Beach Haus Brewery, Belmar, NJ acoustic duo

  • Fri. 7/12 HOB Tavern, Bordentown, NJ

0 Comments