I Am of the Stars
I Am of the Stars
Thank You Good Night
1
0:00
-4:45

Thank You Good Night

Acoustic Demo of a New Song
1

Happy Friday!

Keeping the chat to a minimum this week. To get the Irish tunes out of my ringing ears I put together an acoustic demo of a new song called “Thank You Good Night”. I got the idea from a blue grass song my son was learning. A piece of the guitar melody stuck in my head. I can’t really explain the inspiration for the lyrics—sometimes you just open your mouth and a song comes out. This one started with the lines “I am just a man / a singer in a band / you know the story…” and it poured out from there. This guy in the song isn’t me but I know him pretty well!

Thanks for listening to my new song and have a great weekend!

- Mick

Thank You Goodnight

I am just a man
A singer in a band
You know the story
Every night I try to make my rounds

I’m just a lonely guy
Head up in the sky
Those who came before me
Have shown me the way to come back down

I sing for you tonight
With my arms open wide
I try to do what I can
When I can’t I just pretend
And I wouldn’t have it any other way

I come in like the wind
I don’t know where I been
I don’t know where I’m going
I’m kicking up some dust along the way

Up on a stage
I try to act my age
I try to be honest
Sometimes I just don’t know what to say

I sing for you tonight
With my arms open wide
I try to do what I can
When I can’t I just pretend
And I wouldn’t have it any other way

It isn’t like it seems
I’m never coming clean
I am just an ashtray
I fill up on what you leave behind

I don’t know what it means
It comes to me in dreams
It only makes me wonder
Where I might have gone and who I might have been

I sing for you tonight
With my arms open wide
I try to do what I can
When I can’t I just pretend
And I wouldn’t have it any other way



1 Comment
I Am of the Stars
I Am of the Stars